I’m Nearly 30 and I Still Like…

So, I’m not YET 30, but the big 3-0 is quickly approaching. I’ve started thinking that I really am supposed to be an adult by now. I have a job, a car that I almost own, a small furry love child, and sweet Jesus do I have bills. At this stage in my life I’m supposed to be mature, maternal and settled down, am I not? Well then why do I still love such childish (re: AWESOME!) things???

1. The Muppets: Truly, the Bohemian Rhapsody cover makes me laugh. Every. Single. Time. Not to mention the various Beaker (but not Bunsen Honeydew…I hate that guy) performances. These are puppets. Some man or woman is getting paid to stick their hands up inside these felt and marabou creations and I still love them. Favourite Muppets: Statler and Waldorf.

2. Kraft Dinner: And the sad thing is, I am married to a CHEF, who, I might add, also enjoys the day-glo orange cheesy delish that is KD. It’s bad for me. I don’t care. It’s powdered cheese. I don’t care. I will, however, mention that my mom & nanny’s homemade Mac-n-Cheese is superior to KD, but in a pinch, there is no better dinner. Favourite KD variation: Spirals (they just taste better!) topped with feta and parmesean cheese.

3. Stop-motion Cartoons: I think the green plasticine monstrosity known as Gumby started my facination as a child, and I’ve never stopped loving stop-motion. My dear parents allowed me to pursue my childish dreams of one day being an artistic sort. My tinfoil boats were a sight to be seen, but I had to face reality: I suck at making artsy-fartsy stuff. So, I watched the cool stuff I wanted to make on TV instead. Recently I watched Coraline which was a fantastically creepy stop-motion feature. I don’t recommend it to anyone under the age of 12 or so, but it was fantastic. Favourite Stop-Motion Characters: Wallace and Gromit

4. Count Chocula: Does this need explanation? It turns the milk in your cereal into chocolate milk. Winner. Favourite Count Chocula Spinoff: Frankenberry

5. Video Games: If you know me, you know I’m a WoW nerd. Shut up. You’d be addicted to it if you were cool enough. Other than that, I also love, love, love Mario Cart for the Wii. The tiny Wiimote stearing wheels make this game awesome. Video games are even getting me in shape now, what with Wii Fit and Wii Active. I dropped five pounds motha fuckas! Wasting time has always been a major priority in my life and I’ve managed to waste it on everything from Mario to Sonic to Mortal Combat (BABALITY!) to Yo! Noid! and beyond. Favourite Classic Video Game: Contra, hands down. up-up-down-down-left-right-left-right-b-a-b-a-start!

If I have to stop loving this stuff, I don’t want to grow up.

~ by Andrea on March 23, 2010.

10 Responses to “I’m Nearly 30 and I Still Like…”

  1. The video game kids are growing up and more and more “adults” are still playing video games. Soon, all the old people who didn’t play video games as a kid will be dead and then gamers will rule the world!!

    • It’s very true! Kids are starting to play games before they can even string together sentences, and what kills me is that I hate getting my ass kicked in Guitar Hero by 8 year olds!

  2. I love this! HAHA! What’s even funnier is the fact that there was a regular congregation at your house at lunch hour for the deluxe KD back in high school! Remember, the stuff that was like 2.00 instead of the regular .75 cents…and then there was the lunch hour price is right. Good times! Some things just plain last.

    • Oh my god. My mom and dad seriously must have spent $50 a week on cheese and cheese related products for all of us…if I remember what else we were doing at lunch times, I wonder, how did we turn out so well???

  3. Oh, you gotta love the hecklers Stalter and Waldorf and I am almost 50@#$%^&*three!!!

  4. My fist is raised for the love of stop-motion.

  5. […] PDRTJS_settings_1617011_post_76 = { "id" : "1617011", "unique_id" : "wp-post-76", "title" : "Funny+blog", "item_id" : "_post_76", "permalink" : "http%3A%2F%2Fmkhall49.wordpress.com%2F2010%2F03%2F25%2Ffunny-blog%2F" } Found this the other day and thought it was funny: https://badkidsgoodgrammar.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/im-nearly-30-and-i-still-like/ […]

  6. I’m nearly 30 as well, but I will always squeal at any rainbow-colored marketed product. I love LOVE LOVE Pixar and 3D movies. We also eat Kraft dinners and breakfast for dinner. Though I am a bigger fan of the old school nintendo and sega games than I am of new video or PC games (my first-person shooter skills are teh suck). Oh, but Wii tennis is awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
