One of those days

Today was a shit-day.

Nothing inherently horrible or annoying happened, but I’ve had a nagging headache and general feeling of poopy-ness pretty much from the moment I woke up. It’s not like I’m not keeping myself busy, because apart from having more-than-usual downtime at work, I’m keeping myself occupied as best I can…given the large expense account I have (re: I’m fucking poor!) My one student is hitting the road tomorrow. It’s not like I wish she was staying-it’s jail after all-but unless some little ladies in this province start misbehaving, I might be looking at some long days ahead. I can, of course, go make up more class time with the boys, which is fine, but I actually like working with the girls a little more. They’re definitely less moody (shocking, I know) and they tend to be easier to motivate. However, the boys always bring something great to the table, too. For instance, one such gem of a moment occurred when out of absolutely nowhere, in a completely silent classroom, a young guy looks up, stares at the ceiling for a second, ponders his choice of words and then asks,

“Are nuns allowed to masterbate?”

And, on that completely ridiculous and random note, I bring you:

My favourite famous puppets, minus the ones from wildly famous Muppet-shows (ie: Fragglerock, Sesame, etc):

In no particular order!

1. Falkor from The NeverEnding Story-As a child, I wanted this big, creepy flying dog thing for myself, even though he has the voice of a child molester. *creepy molester voice included!

2. Alf-Apart from his thing with eating cats (was this some sort of weird, Freudian, covert, subliminal message about eating pussy?) I always thought it would be pretty sweet to have a sarcastic, punny alien living in my garage. If only I had nosier neighbours…
Stay away from my cat

3. The Doorknockers from Labyrinth-An obscure one, yes, but a couple of my favourite doorknockers. If I ever accumulate enough of a life to own my own house, I’m going to track down a pair of these knockers and hopefully they’ll learn to talk.
who's there?

4. Gizmo the Mogwai from Gremlins-Not such a big fan of the slimy, angry Gremlins he spawns, but he sort of reminds me of my cat when he was the cute and fuzzy Mogwai. Don’t get him wet, and never, ever, ever, ever feed him after midnight!!!!!!!
Marley, is that you?

~ by Andrea on April 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “One of those days”

  1. I actually had the chance to use the door knockers in atlanta at the Puppet Institute!!

  2. Very cool that you got to use the old knockers (heh heh heh) Becca BUT Falkor could FLY!

  3. […] A few days ago I posted a list of some very important puppets in a very important blog. […]

Leave a Reply

 
