The Joy of Headaches

I think I’m pretty healthy person. I have no major health issues, apart from being unable to absorb B-12 through my stomach, but that’s easily corrected with a once-a month needle in my thigh. I’m not afraid of needles, so no harm done. I rarely get sick or get colds. I do, however, get headaches. Lots and lots and lots of them.

They usually don’t spring up out of nowhere, and normally I can pinpoint what’s causing them. Here’s a few examples of what makes my head ache:

  • PMS: Along with at least one zit, you can be 100% sure my head is throbbing.
  • Changes in the weather: High pressure? Headache. Low pressure? Headache. Humidity? Sinus headache. Dry cold air? Bigger sinus headache. You get the idea.
  • Hangovers: I cannot handle my alcohol like I used to. These days a few pints of draught results in one day of complete uselessness, followed by one to two more days of waning stupidity, headaches and lethargy.
  • My teeth: I am an amazing sleeper. I can sleep anywhere, anytime. I also clench my teeth like a mother fucker when I’m sleeping, causing major face and head pain.
  • Certain foods: I’m still figuring this out, but since realizing I have an allergy to some shell fish (mussels, clams and oysters cause migraines and projectile vomitting), I’ve been looking more closely at what I eat and how it makes me feel.
  • Florescent lighting: I would love nothing more than to rid the world of the buzzing, flickering, annoyance of florescent lights. I’d rather read by candlelight if I had the choice.
  • Lack of sleep: I’m like a child when it comes to getting my z’s. If I don’t have a solid 7-8 hours, I’m cranky, stupid and I get the worst headaches. A joy to be around, I’m sure!
  • Stanky perfumes and colognes: Some scents I can totally handle and even wear on occassion. To all of you who feel the need to take a chemical bath before going anywhere, please, for the love of my sinus, just stop. It’s rank. You stink. It’s not sexy to smell someone coming from 10 metres away. Gross!

Yup, that's about right.

So, as you can probably deduce, I have headaches A LOT (not ALOT…see this post from an awesome blog called Hyperbole and a Half)! And you know what really sucks? I get the kind of headaches that make me feel like I’m wearing a helmet of pain. It complete covers my head, and even includes painful chinstraps just to secure the ouch factor. Some of these headaches make it damn near impossible to move. I shuffle around like a 90 year old woman with a bad hip, trying in vain not to knock my melon around too much. It fucking blows, to say the least.

I also hate that a lot of people don’t understand how much of an inconvenience it is. In some cases I call in sick from work, but do you know how much of a tool I feel like calling in with a headache? It’s like people equate having a headache with a hang nail or a canker sore. If only I could lend you my pain helmet…and then you would see…

On Thursday I made it through an entire day of work with the brain pain. I had Loudest Class twice in a row, then Second Loudest Class, then lunch (I slept in my car for an hour) and the my ladies, who were sweet and quiet and made me a cup of tea. That night I went to bed and woke up feeling fantastic, until 10:20am Friday morning.

I walked into Second Loudest Class and had to stop for a moment. I looked around. I looked at the youth. I looked at the staff. Something was amiss. They had combined Loudest Class and Second Loudest Class into one unit.  It was like someone attacked me from behind with the helmet of pain and just like THAT the head was back.

Defintely not my classroom...

Fingers crossed they get their staffing issues figured out because I’m not sure what else you get when you combine Loudest Class and Second Loudest Class, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to equal a big, raging headache for me.

*Headpain photo from http://www.flickr.com/photos/viola_lorenza/1361778529/
*Class photo from http://www.benettontalk.com/classroom.jpg
~ by Andrea on May 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
