A List

No, not The A-List. Just a list.

I’ve been non-committal with this blog of late. I’ve been feeling very meh. I don’t like to feel meh, but I feel very meh-y. When I feel this way, there are a number of things I enjoy doing:

  • Taking a hot shower. The environmentalist in me hates it, but I drown the little bitch out with hot, hot sudsy water. Hearing nothing but the shower and seeing nothing but steam has a very soothing effect on me.
  • Money shot

  • Eating various comfort foods which include virtually nothing that’s very good for me. One of my favourites is an egg sammy. It’s a hard-fried egg. On buttered bread. The end. Other favs include Nanny bread, Pictou County pizza, bbq steak and homemade mac-n-cheese.
  • Cheese, butter, flour and love.

  • Sleeping. As I may or may not have stated before, I am an Olympic-class sleeper. I am so good at sleeping sometimes I scare myself. In the past couple of years my naps have become less mandatory (thank you doctor for realizing I’m B-12 deficient!) and more for pleasure or the abatement of meh.
  • Mmmm...nap time

  • Laying in the sun. Yes, melanoma, I know you’re out there. However, I love the sun. I’m not a weirdo who aspires to look like an old leather purse, but I do enjoy the look of being alive. I have mid-February pictures to prove that I can actually pass for the living dead without it. Go team Vitamin D!
  • Yes please.

  • An ice cold beer. I don’t drink as often as I used to, but I do enjoy a cold brewsky. I’m sad I missed out on Halifax’s Beer Fest this year. NSB got to volunteer (aka get drunk for free) and I’m extra sad I missed out!
  • Another yes please

  • Playing hide and seek or “attack the finger” with my cat. Although Marley only has two good hiding spots (under the bed, in a box) and even though I know she knows my finger is, in fact, my finger, watching her freak out and run up the walls makes me giddy.

    Fail box.

  • Reading books in fast food restaurants. Strange? Maybe. But I enjoy a salty fry and a tasty beverage with my fiction, Arts & Life section, and/or the relief of meh.
  • Delicious

~ by Andrea on August 16, 2010.

86 Responses to “A List”

  1. Very funny post. I also am a world-class sleeper. When people say they have insomnia, I think they are nuts. Knock on wood, but I have never had any trouble falling asleep. I also do not get it (AT ALL) when people say that they can’t nap because it will ruin their night’s sleep. I have never had a night’s sleep ruined by anything, including an innocent 3-hour nap.

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Hopefully that will take away some of your meh.

  2. Brewsky, huh? Nice word:) I love the simplicity of it all. Nice post and congrats on FP.

  3. I /was/ eating a pop tart for breakfast (healthy I know) but now I’m heading for the kitchen to make an egg sandwich. If I end up in the drive thru buying french fries, I’m totally blaming you!!!

  4. I totally agree with taking a long shower when needed. There really isn’t anything better than letting the warm water hit your face when you’re having a not-so-great day. Also, the other day I was leaving work after a long, long day and was invited out for a beer by some co-workers. I turned them down at first, (I had to go home and get dinner ready, etc.) but then I accepted and the one beer I had was delicious and rejuvenating. Good post!

  5. Love the list, and have indulged in pretty much every item on it! Especially the dread hot shower. And hey, if you’re a teacher and not a lush yet, you must have some serious willpower. Good for you!

  6. Mmmm, I love me an egg sammy. DELISH!

  7. Yes, we all do have our guilty pleasures in the midst of our laziness.
    -Noor
    http://noor724.wordpress.com/
    🙂

  8. Yes! And if you co-ordinate it properly, you can do almost all of these things simultaneously.

  9. I like to read and/or write in fast food restaurants myself — the McDonald’s by my house has WiFi.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  10. You are hilarious. There’s just something about causing a perfectly prissy kitty to go completely insane that makes me happy. Although, I have to admit, it’s even more fun to watch this when that cat just goes insane on their own. Oh, and I’m going to take your advise regarding drowning that little environmentalist bitch inside me with a good shower. 🙂 Appreciate the huge smile this put on my face this morning.

  11. Great post!
    I can’t say I share ALL the same passions, but I can definitely relate on the cold beer front, especially on a summer day

    – Calhoun

    http://selfproclaimedmegalomaniac.wordpress.com/

  12. i love to-do lists

  13. A hot and steamy shower always makes me feel better too. In addition, an good 45 minute workout on the elliptical can increase my energy levels exponentially! Great list & congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  14. Haha funny post. I wish I could be a world class sleeper. Sadly, I am just always awake.

  15. Ice cream: high quality, choke-your-arteries ice cream. And tooling around a great flea market (not the kind that sells socks and war memorabilia). Drinking killer coffee in a great setting. This would not be Starbucks, facing a parking lot.

  16. For a non-committal blogger, hitting the frontpage should give you a boost.

  17. That’s the life.

    I want that beach!!!!

  18. i’m all for reading/writing on burger king, yay!

  19. Great post sista, as per usual!
    I totally agree on long hot showers. Sometimes I find myself in the shower 2 times a day, just for that clean, relaxed feeling!

    P.S. – I hope your meh-y goes away..Me love you long time! ❤

  20. Happy list. Nice list. Good to remember these little golden moments !

    http://www.sunshinediary.wordpress.com

  21. Love your list!

  22. Macaroni and cheese is tasty in all forms!

    Is that Marley in the box? I love Calico cats.

  23. what a great blog, i love it. I love all the same things, especially the egg sammy!

  24. Uh, ya’ know it’s early…but I’m meh and you’ve inspired me: tangerine beer and buttered white toast. Nothing like a good monday artery clog, eh? funny, funny post. ~Heather

  25. You and I would have a wondrous day of laying by the pool, napping, eating macNcheese and drowning it with beer. Sounds like a beautiful thing.

  26. Entertaining post and love the pics! LB

  27. Nice list of ways to fight that “meh” feeling! As a fairly new blogger it’s awesome to see you blog about a very simple topic! Hope the meh does not last!

  28. Why isn’t there any Molson in the beer pic??

    • Ew! Molson=icky!! Although, when in Montreal, I tend to stick to Molson Export. Molson Canadian is pretty gross though! Surprisingly, I tend to go for the American brand, Canadian brewed beers 🙂 Coors Light here is delicious. In the States it tastes like dirty tap water!

  29. Very nice post. I had a good time reading it. :]

  30. We must be twins separated at birth because I too love to sleep, blog, and read! Except for not really knowing what meh means, I’m with you all the way. I got it, but I didn’t really know in the beginning!! Good post! Funny!!

    evelyngarone.com

  31. Sweet post. All good options to combat the meh, especially reading in a fast food joint. And I feel like doing something good (reading) cancels out doing something not-so-good (mcnuggets).

  32. thanks for this blog on the “meh” feeling! i’m waiting for mine to go away too… and my list is pretty similar, especially the sleeping, eating junk, and hot showering!

  33. All of your posts are great! I love the personal touch. Keep them coming.

  34. Nice list. Personally, I’m addicted to taking my book to a food court to eat lunch. Sometimes I read but often I just people watch, the book gives me an excuse to sit there longer (as if I needed an excuse to extend my lunch break!)

  35. Beer.Sleep.Hot shower. Btw your cat’s adorable and the post is completely meh-y! 🙂

  36. I like it. Funny, unusual a winner.
    Can’t sleep ’til after midnight though, that time till six, that’s it.

  37. I love ‘atack the finger’ with the cat! Always, a danger as you never quite know whether they are going to play with claws in – or out!

  38. […] dejar un comentario » No, not The A-List. Just a list. I've been non-committal with this blog of late. I've been feeling very meh. I don't like to feel meh, but I feel very meh-y. When I feel this way, there are a number of things I enjoy doing: Taking a hot shower. The environmentalist in me hates it, but I drown the little bitch out with hot, hot sudsy water. Hearing nothing but the shower and seeing nothing but steam has a very soothing effect on me.

  39. book with lunch at fast food that would be awesome but cant do it often since i just always had a take away after got back from work…^^

  40. […] No, not The A-List. Just a list. I've been non-committal with this blog of late. I've been feeling very meh. I don't like to feel meh, but I feel very meh-y. When I feel this way, there are a number of things I enjoy doing: Taking a hot shower. The environmentalist in me hates it, but I drown the little bitch out with hot, hot sudsy water. Hearing nothing but the shower and seeing nothing but steam has a very soothing effect on me.

  41. I like reading too. I read novel, short story, psichology, etc. I like slepping to. Your list interesting, I like it! Thanks http://Jendelakatatiti.wordpress.com.

  42. very funny. I enjoy your list. I, too, am a beast at sleeping. And homemade mac n cheese, while terribly unhealthy, is absolutely a guilty pleasure.
    http://blameitonthecoffee.wordpress.com/

    • Mac and Cheese, or mac-n-chee as I’ve called it all these years, is definitely a HUGE guilty pleasure. Since I’m getting up there in years, I’ve had to start watching how much of these bad things I eat. I used to be able to devour the stuff without thought. Now, if I polish off the (typical) three HEAPING bowlfuls I normally end up eating, it’s fasting-time for about three days afterwards, unless I want to see that delicious dish show up on my BUTT. UGH! Damn you metabolism, damn you!!!! *insert fist shaking*

  43. Brilliant post! Love the list…sounds like it works excellently against “meh” 🙂 The list rocks! Can def relate to hot showers, long sleeps and playing with cat as a good cure for all things “meh”.

  44. Great Post! Now that’s what I call an ideal list! Something I have no problems or complains following.

  45. Funny article, I’m glad you tagged this in health because even though some of the things aren’t exactly healthy so to speak, doing whats good for you mind will also be good for your body.

    http://www.thecooldown.wordpress.com

  46. I agree to all of these things that you posted, except I’d change the beer to a nice little cosmo… paid for by someone else hopefully. 😀 I understand being in a meh mood, I hope you get out of the meh soon!

  47. Great Post !!

  48. […] I love fall, I do, but I get a bit weather-sick non the less. A little while back, I came across this lovely post in the Freshly Pressed section, and I got inspired to write my own little list of things that cheer […]

Leave a Reply

 
