Scott Pilgram Vs My Blog

I have a number of blogs I follow and Grumpy is one of them. I love his old-man approach to nearly every situation life offers up. He did, however, beat me to a post I’ve had in the works for a few days now. I wanted to see if he’d updated and BLAM-O, there’s HIS review of Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World! I ever-so quickly scrolled right past it, hoping not to be tainted by another review before finishing my own! I have to admit, I’m not reaaaallllly writing a review so much as a love story between the movie and myself, but I digress. I still wanted to finish up my post before reading someone else’s!

A few days ago I went to check out Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World. Of all the movies I’ve gone to see by myself, this is the one I’ve felt most at home with. Not only were there more people seeing this movie alone than with friends, I was probably the best looking one out of all of them! Mind you, I mostly only saw them in the dark and from behind, but shit son, the back of my head looked better than most anyone else’s in that theatre.

Thwark! Schlamozle! WANK! Spoooge!

The story is simple enough. Scott, a nouveau-nerd (re: based on a comic book, video gamer, in a band, dorky, yet amazingly awesome) in his 20s meets the girl of his dreams while he also happens to be dating a high school girl. In order to date his dream girl, he must defeat her Seven Evil Exes in a series of video game style battles, complete with updated Batman “KaPOWs”and the collection of coins upon each Evil Ex’s death. The story of the Evil Exes intertwines itself with the story of Scott’s own ex, a former fling and current rock star, as well as Sex Bob-Omb’s rise to fame in a heated Battle of the Bands.

There are so very many things that I love about this movie. I love it’s cheesiness. The movie is ripe with the pungent aroma of a veiny, stanky, blue cheese and it knows it. The classic video game sounds (think Super Mario) and references (One-Up!) are cheese. The gay roommate (and one bed) is cheese. The over-the-top violence is cheese. And it works. Fabulously.

Another thing I love about this movie is the location. The entire movie (or at least the outdoor scenes and some of the club scenes) was shot in Toronto in my old neighbourhood.

Home-away-from-home sick.

Nothing makes a Canadian girl happier than seeing her former stomping ground on the big screen. I used to get stoked when The Simpsons would mention Nova Scotia for three seconds in a clip.

The weirdest, glitziest, store full of crap ever!

But this is too much! Honest Ed’s, Lee’s Palace, The Annex, Casa Loma, and the list goes on! It makes me want to get into my car and drive to Toronto just to wander around my old haunts. That’s a lie. I’d totally eat my weight in Thai food while I was there as well.

Aw, Dance Cave, I miss you!

And on top of all that love, comes more love. The movie has a great soundtrack-Metric, Broken Social Scene and Kid Koala are just a couple of the Canucks on the soundtrack and Sex Bob-Omb‘s music was masterminded by my favourite Scientologist Beck. I also read that Chris Murphy from Sloan (East Coast, REPRESENT) was the guitar coach for the actors. Speaking of actors, I think I love them all. Michael Cera is like Jesus these days, and I’ve loved Jason Schwartzman since Rushmore. I hadn’t seen Mary Elizabeth Winstead in any other movies, but I think she did a pretty fantabulous job as Ramona Flowers. Top it all off with Macaulay Culkin’s weird little brother Kieran and we’re talking magic. Pure, simple, dork-laden magic.

I can’t wait to watch this movie again. I truly think it’s the perfect nerd love story and although I’m certain there will be oodles (yes, oodles) of people who won’t “get” it, I sure as hell, am not one of them. I’d also like to state that when my Chinese baby gets here in the mail, I’m so naming her Knives. I call dibs on this and I will fight you to the death if you try to cross me.

Hi, my name is Knives!


Sigh.

I lesbians Scott Pilgram.

~ by Andrea on August 25, 2010.

13 Responses to “Scott Pilgram Vs My Blog”

  1. Whoa, I don’t remember WANK and Sploooge in Batman…
    I’ve been wanting to check out this movie and now I want to see it even more! Especially now that you mentioned the soundtrack. Loves me some Beck. and Broken Social Scene. and holy crap I just noticed there’s Stones! Score!

  2. Ugh…..I said lesbians. That was some fantastic gushing. Hopefully we can more people out to see this movie. The grassroots campaign starts right here!

  3. Scott Pilgram Vs My Blog Β« BadKidsGoodGrammar's Blog…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  4. Sista! I TOO loved this movie. Allen and I both went to see it last week, and we loved every little bit of it! The fight scenes were awesome, and the CHEESE, oh the cheese was spectacular. I do love me some Michael Cera! He was great.

  5. You syrup sucking puckslapper

    • jk /hugs but now i have to go see this movie with the wingas

    • I do all those things, therefore, I am not offended. πŸ˜›

      • little does he know, his wife being the product of upstate NY is also a syrup sucking puckslapper at heart. muhahahaha
        just call him a Shatner-stealing Mexico toucher.

        Yeah, I’m a little late to the party, just realized The Dingas posted here πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
