To My Small Friend

Marley the Cat: Spring 2007-October 19, 2010

Mid-morning nap preparation.

Born in Toronto and saved from a life of ear mites and possible in-breeding at the Crazy Cat Lady’s house, Marley the Cat succumbed to her illness during surgery on the afternoon of October 19, 2010. Although she was only three and a half, she lived a great life full of friends, family and travel.

Her head could be found in cups, plastic bags, and stinky shoes.

Marley was a worldly cat; she had a love of dirty socks, smelling people’s mouths and food and playing hide-and-seek. Other pass times included keeping her coat and famous raccoon tail impeccably clean, attacking fingers and ankles, as well as watching her humans prepare food, bathe and play computer games. We believe she knew three languages: cat, obviously, as well as bird (she could often be found in windows making small chirping sounds at the flying creatures outside the windows) and human. Although she never actually spoke human, we know that she could, in fact, understand us all. She just chose to ignore us. We took it all in stride, as we all know she was too good for any lowly human. She was also a sucker for boxes, lying on clean clothes, suitcases, and she had a strange affection for licking plastic bags.

Just hanging out, being awesome.

Her signature move was the Scaredy-Cat-Dance. She would arch her back like an angry Hallowe’en cat and twinkle-toe across the floors. It was always an invitation to a friendly game of Chase Me Around the House, and usually ended up with her striking the winning blow to an ankle, or the back of a knee. This attack normally resulted in human submission and the provision of treats and belly rubs. Other popular tricks included the Door Frame Climb and the Chair to Bed Superfly Snooka Leap.

Marley was a loving cat. Although she only snuggled on her own time, typically between 5 and 6am (or until she was fed) and then again for mid-morning naps at about 11am, she loved to be in the same room as whoever was home. She was also fond of crawling under blankets with you to nestle behind your knees while you napped. She wasn’t a needy cat. All she wanted was company, love, and, of course, food.

Watching you, watching me, watching you...

Marley made people around her happy with her crazy, off-the wall (literally) and nutty behaviours.

Many people will miss her. Many people loved her.

Good-bye my little small fry. I’ll miss you and love you forever.

Small Fry


RIP Marley
AKA Marls, Small Fry, Stinkface, Crazy Train

~ by Andrea on October 20, 2010.

8 Responses to “To My Small Friend”

  1. Sorry for you loss! Seems you are taking it in stride. It’s sad to lose a pet-friend/family member.

  2. Oh, I am so sorry for your loss. My heart aches for you. I’ve had my wee beasties for 10 years and I know how they sneak into your heart (and cupboards and boxes). Take care, you were a good Mum.

  3. Awww. That really stinks. She’s lucky to have you and vice versa. BIG HUGS!!!

  4. I cried through this whole entire thing. I was one of those ones who really, really loved Marley. I’m going to miss her so much. I already miss chasing her around and watching her jump on walls. Glad you are keeping your chin up sista. Thinking of you ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. Awww I’m so sorry for you loss!

    My kitty Tiger turns 2 next week and while sometimes she drives me nuts, I couldn’t bare the thought of her not being around – she escaped and was missing for about 2 days a year ago and I was such a wreck, worried I’d never see her again or something bad had happened to her…

    That’s so sad, but at least you have the memories and photos which will last a lifetime!

  6. Awww…I’m so sorry to hear about Marley…it sounds like she had a wicked fulfilling life with you though…good pet parents are the best parents…

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about Marley. She was adorable.

Leave a Reply

 
